You will submit to Visible Ink

I can’t believe it. The boyfriend had netball. Sarah had a night shift. Everyone else…what was everyone else’s excuse? I’ve just been sitting in the Empress Hotel for the last three hours, randomly chatting to strangers and listening to more strangers read their stuff. Grr. NOT HAPPY. But I had promised to read tonight, so I did, performing my one and only good poem, ‘Red Den Beauty’, which will be appearing in the upcoming issue of Harvest.

Apart from the lack of friends, it was a good night. I got to chat to Tom Conyers about his book Morse Code for Cats, a contemporary novel about sex and drugs and a guy who tries to live his life like a book, and the friendly crew from Visible Ink 2009 happily answered all of my questions. I also scored a weird Greek pastry thingamybob and a copy of the Sleepers Almanac 2007. There were a lot of readings (some too soft for my underachieving ears), as well as some ’em & em dash’ beatboxing. 

Visible Ink is publishing its 21st bumper issue this year. There will be text, there will be artwork, and there will be funcakes at the November launch. The submission date is drawing near so do submit soon. I’m not sure what the editors are looking for, but have a read of the magazine’s older issues. If you’re still in doubt and are feeling charitable (there’s a $5 submission fee), send in your stuff anyway before 15 August 2009.

3 thoughts on “You will submit to Visible Ink

    • A bit of both. I write the odd poem or two but I never really bother redrafting, since the subjects they address are never profound enough to warrant the effort.

      ‘Red Den Beauty’, however, was written with the intention of responding to a comment in one of Nam Le’s short stories, ‘Ethnic literature’s hot. And important too.’ I really wanted to express this frustration towards ethnic writer stereotyping, so I really tried to work on this piece. It started off as dialogue, morphing into fiction, before settling into blank verse.

      I hope people enjoy it.

  1. Pingback: Getting Friendly with Read You Bastards « Thuy Linh Nguyen

Leave a Reply

